Skip to content

Rena’s Thai Kitchen

March 22, 2010


370c Kensington Rd
Erindale SA 5066
(08) 8331 9266

Open Wed-Sun 5pm-9pm

Sorry guys, I know it has been a while, just bustling with social events and the Adelaide Fringe has just gone past so it was a tough task getting bookings for anything that sold food! I think our last review was over a month ago, and to be honest I have been hanging out for a tempest of tasty Thai delights! Rena’s Thai Kitchen out to the East of Norwood happened to be next on our list and I really hope they can calm the culinary storm that is brewing!

Final Score: 6.15/10

.

.

“Best Dish”

Yup, that’s right. It’s not a typo. As you all know I never decide on which meal I’m going to eat on the night, instead I ask for their best dish. Sometimes they ask whether I like noodles, beef, chicken, seafood, hot or spicy but I always put it back onto them … my tastebuds are in their control! The waitress came round to take our orders, and was slightly confused when I asked for their best dish. Going from slightly confused to slightly amused, she literally wrote down “Best Dish” on her order notepad! Both Jason and I were to be the receivers of “Best Dish” and I was definitely excited, like waiting for Christmas in my mouth!

While we waited, it gave me a chance to try and remember how to do a Thai review … it’s been a while! This place is like a fish and chip shop turned Thai cafe, really not a restaurant by any means if you take the general concensus of the word “restaurant”. There would probably be enough seating for 25 people so if I had my full brigade tonight I think we would have booked out the whole place! The layout and simple cafe style chairs and tables reminded me of a few other city restaurants we have already encountered, but unfortunately things looked a bit lower class than what I was expecting. The walls were plain and getting dirty and things just looked old and run down. The biggest issue was the leaking airconditioner that was situated next to me and managed to create a mini wading pool of discharge underneath us (we only found out about this after some people’s bags were soaked!) … so you can imagine how unimpressing that would be and also quite unhygienic. It was obvious it has been broken for a while as the wooden skirting boards were warped and swollen. The wait staff were courteous and helpful in the other aspects however, so no complaints there.

Is it food time yet? I think it is! Jason and I were presented with what looked like your typical Larb Chicken but in fact was a special chef’s dish! You can have a look at the picture for yourself, and although it looks like a bit of a dog’s breakfast I can assure you the taste was fantastic. This dish is like a Larb Chicken 2.0, improved with extra flavour and chili zing. The chicken mince tasted like it was flavoured with a combination fish sauce, sweet chili sauce and limes and there was just enough chili to pop in briefly and say hello. The flavour was so pronounced that I managed to spread it out over four serves of rice even though the actual serve wasn’t large. Capsicum, onion and celery were mixed in to breakup the monotonous light brown and provided the crunchy textures to make this dish more interesting.

So we’re back, but are we satisfied? Some of the other guys had good and bad so it’s a bit of hit and miss, but it all depends on what you like. This dish was great, but probably not as good as I’ve had elsewhere for the same price. If you’re after a recommendation then I would try and ask for the “Best Dish” but there’s no guarantees that you’d get the same thing as I did! The actual venue itself isn’t the most enjoyable, and the broken airconditioning is on second thought actually very dangerous, both safety and health wise. Unfortuatnely for Rena’s Thai Kitchen, for the same $20 you can dine in comfort and style at one of our current top 3 leaders at this present time … so overall good food, but maybe take away is the better option.

.

  • Service [6.9/10] : No complaints but nothing outstanding either, a bit of a long food wait.
  • Quality [8.3/10] : Very tasty, it’s basically a chicken mince meat mashup but so nice!
  • Venue [3.5/10] : Plain, slightly dirty and that aircon problem just isn’t cool…
  • Value [5.9/10] : A tasty serve but poor venue, there’s better Pad for your Thai elsewhere.

.

.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Peter Craig permalink
    March 23, 2010 12:14 am

    Went to Rena’s for the first time the other day.
    Air-Con was fine, no leaks. courteous staff.
    I love Thai/Asian food so I was prepared to be critical.
    I ordered it hot/spicy and was not disappointed. (Phew!!)
    My family also found it very good and we have ordered “Take-away”
    since then.
    A bigger place would be an advantage though.
    Would I recommend them? Yes, most certainly.

  2. Chow permalink*
    March 23, 2010 12:32 am

    Thanks for the update and good to hear they have now fixed the AC unit!

    • Jan & Peter Western permalink
      March 23, 2010 10:45 am

      We live in the eastern suburbs and our favourite food is Thai. We discovered Rena’s Thai Kitchen 2 years ago and we are regular customers every week. We very often ask the chef to surprise us with a new dish and we have been so delighted with the freshness and true Thai flavours in her incredible repertoire. Rena cooks duck to perfection and her traditional Thai basil chicken is worth the visit. We also really enjoy that Rena’s is a “Thai Kitchen” as advertised, which means small, cosy and comfortable in the true Australian style.

  3. Chow permalink*
    March 23, 2010 10:58 pm

    Thanks Jan and Peter, glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed Rena’s for quite some time. Sounds like we’re all agreeing that the food here is great!

  4. March 25, 2010 1:57 am

    Chow, you still rate with the the harshness of an NBA All Star Weekend Slam Dunk Competition Judge! How does a shoebox with dirty walls and a leaky air-conditioner get above average for venue??

    You are too influenced by how good the food is 😉

    Next time, I suggest you review like this:
    Quality 8/10 – Delicious Food!
    Venue 2/10 – ORDER AS TAKEAWAY!

    Overall I give your review 7.1741143333333 (recurring)

    Love
    Brad

    • March 25, 2010 1:59 am

      I just realised it says “Value 5.9” not venue.

      I am proud of you this day for finally giving something below 5 out of 10, something Charles Barkley has never been able to do.

      I rate my reading comprehension ϖ/10

  5. Chow permalink*
    March 25, 2010 2:42 am

    Hehe, maybe your advice has already sunken in Brad without you even knowing 😉

    Remember I always tell it how it is, straight up!

Leave a Reply

