Skip to content

Who’s Winning?

Who's Winning?

.
Just who is leading as the best Thai restaurant in Adelaide?

.

  1. Cafe Michael2 [9.1/10]
    .
    Cafe Michael2, it doesn’t sound like a Thai restaurant but almost everyone I’ve spoken to this week has been here before! I’ve been recommended the Green Chicken Curry, Red Beef Curry and the Pad Thai by multiple people, but of course I will be letting the waitress choose my meal for me! It’s also the last review for the calendar year, so Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all you readers out there!
    .
  2. Tongue Thai’d [9.05/10]
    .
    What a great name for a Thai restaurant, very punny indeed! Another week of tantalising delights this time at one of my favourite places. I know for a fact that they do a great Pad Thai dish which is plenty for any food warrior, and the chef even has some specialties which have become local favourites. They’ve recently renovated too and this place can now hold my crew comfortably so let’s move onto some food which will hopefully have my Tongue Thai’d!
    .
  3. Manee Siam [8.975/10]
    .
    Another week, another review! This time at a very popular suburban treasure called Manee Siam. I’ve heard many good things about this place and it seems the Internet agrees with the general consensus. It can get a bit busy on Goodwood Rd on a Friday night as city workers rush to get home, but nevertheless this place is fairly easy to get to and parking isn’t an issue! This was also the first week of my low carb diet, so obviously tonight is a cheat day for me … rice here I come!
    .
  4. Star of Siam [8.95/10]
    .
    Our first Gouger St review and will be just one of many along this street of culinary delights! It was a bit hectic as the street was closed for a special Classic Adelaide Rally street party which I didn’t know was on. As with most restaruants on Gouger St, Friday nights are always bustling and packed with market goers wanting a bite to eat, so let’s see how the Star of Siam holds up in the heat!
    .
  5. Cafe Sabai [8.925/10]
    .
    Everyone has their favourite local cafe that is almost an automatic “roll of the tongue” response when someone asks where to go for a coffee. Cafe Sabai has been up and running for quite a number of years now providing love and attention to those who care not for the bustling main street that is Jetty Road. However it’s actually only been within the past year that they have been dishing out Thai cuisine for hungry dinner goers! It’s just a couple of streets back from Jetty Road and honestly, even before walking into this place I could tell this was a little hidden gem waiting to be set high in our Thai review crown!
    .
  6. Regent Thai [8.85/10]
    .
    It’s been a few weeks since the last review,  it’s the annual Christmas rush to catch up with people before everyone floats away on whatever holidays they’ve got so I’ve been a little busy! No matter, tonight’s review had to happen as it was the last one for the year, and lots of people were keen to make it. I think we’ve got a few more to go on O’Connell St but I’ve heard some good things about Regent! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to everyone who reads this!
    .
  7. Chabaar [8.8/10]
    .
    Back to the bustling street that is the Norwood Parade for another face off! Chabaar is a fairly new establishment created by the same owners of Amarin Thai which was rather well received by us when we last visited. As with most other eateries on this strip, we had to book in early to avoid disappointment so for a while this place has been on our plates … time to let our tastebuds do the talking!
    .
  8. Nu Thai [8.775/10]
    .
    Mmm, I like trying new things … especially restaurants that I haven’t been to before. It’s like doing a jungle trek that you know people have done before, but the experience is nevertheless still new and exciting to you … Will your tour guide be adequate? Is the scenery going to be nice? How many tigers will you encounter? How tasty will they be? … so many things to look forwards to (JK regarding eating tigers of course). For some reason Nu Thai has been mentioned quite a few times around me lately, both in the print media and by mouth around the office here so I guess it was just meant to be!
    .
  9. Lemongrass Thai Bistro [8.825/10]
    .
    Another exciting episode of Captain Planet! … no, actually it’s the much more tastier episode of Thai review this week at Lemongrass Thai Bistro! I think this may be the last Rundle St establishment I’ve got on my list so for all you city folk I should have a complete Rundle St Thai review! Right amongst some of the best little city restaurants and cafe’s, this place surely has to be up in the competition in order to survive! Lets see how much this place packs a punch!
    .
  10. Indochina Thai [8.8/10]
    .

    Indochina Thai, the restaurant that may or may not combine three countries worth of culinary delights (Indonesia, China and Thailand) but judging from all the previous reviews, I wouldn’t be surprised to find a large menu full of all these types of foods. I certainly was hoping for some good “value, quality and creativity” as the last two Thai reviews were a little bit shocking especially in the service department.  Indochina is in the Entertainment Book this year for all you people who are on a tight-fisted budget, but more importantly I hope I can provide a good review this time!
    .
  11. Orientai [8.75/10]
    .
    One for those down South of Adelaide, Orientai beams down upon the Thai review like the spit shine on a cricket ball … well, hopefully minus the spit! Orientai have been around for a number of years and although I’ve grown up around the general area I haven’t really noticed this place. Orientai’s horns were blowing and my number was up, so time to find out how good this beach-sider fares!
    .
  12. Samui Thai [8.725/10]
    .
    On the way to Lobethal is this small little Thai restaurant, tucked away in a row of takeaway shops near the Feather’s Hotel. There wasn’t much information about this place in the internet for me to read about, but I knew it was probably the only Thai place around the area before hitting North Adelaide. Let’s hope this local joint fares well!
    .
  13. Sawasdee [8.675/10]
    .
    Something out in the suburbs this week as we venture out to the East of Adelaide to review this little gem. This place has been around for over 20 years and has been a local favourite for every single of those years. It’s got to be great when also run by authentic Thai chefs! We’ll have to let our tastebuds do the talking!
    .
  14. Amarin Thai [8.45/10]
    .

    It’s been quite a while between drinks … well, between noodles maybe! Amarin Thai has been around for a long time, and has established itself to be one of the finer eats around. Given their lengthy experience and numerous positive outcries I think that it’s time to put them to the test … I always like a good food challenge! Onwards!
    .
  15. Unley Siam Thai Bistro [8.4/10]
    .
    Hmm, I can’t believe I missed out on this place when we cruised along Unley Rd about 4 months ago and reviewed what the area had to offer. There were some mixed beliefs on which dishes were good and bad based on some online reviews, but I’ve been told they do some great curries here. There’s only one way to find out … time to eat!
    .
  16. Rundle Spices [8.375/10]
    .
    We’ve reviewed the Glenelg shoot off of the same restaurant down on Jetty Rd, and found that it was pretty good! I don’t know how long Rundle Spices has been here for but I honestly missed seeing it, thinking I had reviewed every Thai place already on the street! We already had a good review down at Glenelg, I would assume that things would be pretty similar here … so, onto some glorious food! reviews, but I’ve been told they do some great curries here. There’s only one way to find out … time to eat!
    .
  17. Glenelg Spices [8.225/10]
    .
    Our second visit to the Western shores of Adelaide, Glenelg Spices calls our name for another installment of the Thai Review! Hopefully this place will fair better than our previous review at Phuket Thai back in our early days. I’ve worked on Jetty Rd at the old Tandy store a few years back and always noticed this place as a possible lunch option but never ventured in, so maybe it was just fate bringing me back? … probably not, but I am keen as always for a plate of Thai delights! Onwards!
    .
  18. Tiger Lilly Cafe [8.2/10]
    .
    Another week, another Thai review! This time at Tiger Lilly Cafe, and I’m not too sure whether it is a mistake having two letter L’s in the name, but that’s not what I’m here to review! A small plain shopfront certainly isn’t the greatest of greetings, but that always means the food is going to be terrific doesn’t it? The best foods usually are a surprise, being cooked out of a small home-style kitchenette with real heart and soul. I’m hoping tonight’s meal is going to be a winner!
    .
  19. Silk and Spice [8.125/10]
    .
    Wow, you guys probably thought that it was the end of Thai review! I don’t blame you … it has been a while I know, and I apologise for being on the other side of the world during this time … but fear not! We are back to finish this mammoth of a task off properly, this week with a popular little place on Henley Beach Rd. Thai your taste buds down as we’re about to take off once again!
    .
  20. Thailand Thai [7.8/10]
    .
    Well I’ve been pretty busy being on the social calendar so I haven’t had a chance to organise a review for a few weeks … my tastebuds were hanging out for some Thai nicities for sure! I’ve heard some good things about this place, and this place was also near our favourite Indian restaurant Raj on Taj, so perhaps we could find another gemstone in the ritzy stretch of King William Rd! Hopefully not too expensive!
    .
  21. Toptai [7.75/10]
    .
    Whoah! Best Thai Restaurant 2012?! Someone has been stealing my review idea (again)! Oh wait, the people who reviewed this place are proper food panelists with credentials … nonetheless, quite an interesting review coming up as I see just how good things are here compared to the other 40 odd places we’ve enjoyed (or not) already! This place is inside the shopping complex, not noticeably eye-catching from the street and used to be a Chinese or Yum Cha place before it changed into Thai. Hungry stomachs await, let’s Thai-m to roll!
    .
  22. Aroy Thai [7.6/10]
    .
    I grew up in the area and Aroy Thai has been around ever since I can remember, and it was only recently that I ventured into this place to finally have a taste. It’s next to a pizza bar so for those who dislike Thai food you can go get a pizza instead and stop reading this blog! I’ve heard mixed reviews about this place when dining in and for takeaway so it will be interesting to find out who is right!
    .
  23. Parade Thai [7.575]
    .
    Yet another review on The Parade in Norwood, this time at the fittingly named Parade Thai. We were actually supposed to visit this place before Danny’s Thai bistro but the were fully booked, so I assumed that this place was a pretty popular place to eat at and in my mind that means the food has to be good! Directly opposite Danny’s Thai Bistro also means it’s going to be some tough competition, as you could easily hop across if the line up is too long! Last week’s service was pretty average, so I am hoping that this place can set the record straight!

    .
  24. Indochine [7.55/10]
    .
    Glenelg hosts quite a few Thai restaurants, and upon researching this place it mentioned that this is actually supposed to be a noodle bar! I wasn’t actually going to put this place on the list but I thought, what the hell, I’m sure they sell things other than noodles! Indochine is another venue that has been around for a number of years and I’ve always wanted to drop in, so what better time than now!
    .
  25. Tiffany Thai [7.525/10]
    .
    Another week on Gouger St, this time right next to last review’s venue at Lime and Lemon. It’s always good to know which of the rivals are the best, cos why bother choosing something less than best! As always the restaurants and the busy market scene were at it’s peak, so let’s review this tasty treat!
    .
  26. Rose Garden [7.5/10]
    .
    Anyone living in Adelaide for the past 20 or so years might have formed a bit of a stereotypical view of Churchill Rd as being quite rough and dangerous … and it’s not until the Prospect Council upgraded the road recently that anyone driving around here would probably agree. People always assume that dining in a swanky popular suburban strip is the only way to go for great food (… and we’ve certainly done the rounds to coin this!) however even the worst looking suburbs have their hidden surprises and I have a feeling the Rose Garden (currently receiving a very impressive 93% rating on Urban Spoon!) is going to turn some heads … well, mouths at least! Let’s find out!
    .
  27. Basil & Lemongrass Thai Cafe [7.45/10]
    .
    Our third to last review! Thanks to those who have come along this length journey … over 40 Thai eateries and over two years in the making! Basil & Lemongrass actually used to be up in North Adelaide on O’Connell St back in the day but now have moved along to the prosperous (hehe) suburb of Prospect. Hopefully they haven’t slacked off in their cooking skills since the move as we’re about to bring this Thai journey to a close!
    .
  28. Suree’s Thai Kitchen [7.15/10]
    .
    Our maiden voyage into the open Thai seas, complete with a 18 crew on board and
    a hunger of twice that.  Suree’s Thai Kitchen has an interesting story behind the founding, where Suree came over from Thailand to meet Peter, who was an architecture student at the time, and also of Thai background.  Peter setup the Bangkok Thai restaurant first in Rundle St before opening up this venue in honour of his wife who is also the head chef.  Mouthwatering homestyle cooking at good value prices is what I’m looking forwards to … so enough of the chat, a few of us are getting hungry so let’s eat!
    .
  29. Chuy’s Thai Restaurant [7.125/10]
    .
    Chow’s Thai meets Chuy’s Thai … sounds like a winning combination! It just so happens this is the 2nd week in a row on O’Connell St, and last week’s fare wasn’t bad but there’s always room for improvement. Whose Thai cuisine shall reign supreme?! How will Chuy’s Thai go in Chow’s Thai review?! Let’s find out!
    .
  30. Erawan Thai Cafe & Restaurant [7.1/10]
    .
    Almost time to close the curtains with our second-to-last Thai review … forever! Erawan Thai Cafe & Restaurant is a brand new hunger cruncher situated along the historic Port Rd which entertains many a diverse crowd of numerous socioeconomic well-wishers, from after-work tradies slamming down $3 tinnies to hipster-dressed Vietnamese socialites looking for pre-karaoke supper. Being the end of our run, anticipation runs high as we look forwards to ending on a high … let’s hope our last couple of reviews fits that bill!
    .
  31. Beyond the Red [7.075/10]
    .
    When I looked this place up on Google it said that this place was  Thai restaurant, so I wasn’t expecting the menu to show Vietnamese and Asian cuisine! Fortunately Thai food was on the menu, and today I was really keen to get onto the first review of 2010! A new year of Thai food begins now!
    ..
  32. Royal Thai [7.05/10]
    .
    A recommendation from one of my tight Thai crew, Royal Thai is another little resaurant favourited by the locals in the area as the “go to” Thai eatery. This place isn’t too far from town either and if you’re after somewhere to eat that isn’t on The Parade then Royal Thai is a valid compromise. Just how true is the local gospel? Onwards to the review!
    .
  33. Yum yai [7.0/10]
    .
    We’ve now only got a short list of restaurants to go on our Thair review tour (I think this one is number 36)! On our last Henley Beach Road quest we walked past this little place, which I think is fairly new. There seems to be quite a few Asian restaurants on this stretch of road! It used to be a Greek restaurant and you can tell it’s open for business by it’s ultra bright LED signage out the front … you just can’t miss it. So just how Yum will this Thai be? Let’s find out!
    .
  34. Viet Thai [6.975/10]
    .
    A few weeks off and the little voice in my head says “Hey, what happened to Thai Reviews?” … obviously I couldn’t ignore that and here’s the next installment of this culinary journey! Review number 27 to be precise, and we’re well on our way to finding out who reigns supreme!
    .
  35. Tanapa Thai [6.95/10]
    .
    Oh, did I miss one Thai restaurant on the busy beachside street that heads Glenelg? I have a feeling that this place has been recently renamed, and from doing a quick Google it used to be called Natee Thai. Not sure why they changed their name, but usually it would raise some eyebrows … nevertheless, we gotta try it out. Let’s hope this place has some good things to offer!
    .
  36. Danny’s Thai Bistro [6.3/10]
    .
    This week we’re on The Parade! I’ve always heard about Danny’s Thai Bistro from the TV and radio ads, and I have heard they are pretty popular in the annual Norwood food awards. I’ve also always wondered just how authentic a Thai restaurant could be with a name like Danny’s … but names aside, it was apparent from looking at all their awards that they could call themselves whatever they wanted! I was hanging out all week for some tasty Thai delights, so hopefully the media hasn’t made me salivate too early! Onwards with the food review!
    .
  37. Lime and Lemon [6.225/10]
    .

    Lime and Lemon, nice name for a Thai restaurant! Makes you think of juicy and tangy things that are included in many Thai dishes. Situated in the heart of Gouger  St, Friday nights are always packed due to after-work shopping at the Central Markets and people wanting to get cheap eats after a few pints. This place is in the Entertainment Book too so make sure you get a bargain for hopefully some nice food! Onwards!
    .
  38. Pira Thai Cuisine [6.175/10]
    .
    Happy New Year guys! … yeah I know, it’s like March now and New Year’s was three months ago, but hey, we’re back! After a few months off doing things other than Thai Reviews, I thought it was about time the ball got another push down the hill and our tongues got to hit the streets again. Pira Thai is on the city end of Unley Rd right next door to one of our previously reviewed favourite curry restaurants!
    .
  39. Rena’s Thai Kitchen [6.15/10]
    .
    Sorry guys, I know it has been a while, just bustling with social events and the Adelaide Fringe has just gone past so it was a tough task getting bookings for anything that sold food! I think our last review was over a month ago, and to be honest I have been hanging out for a tempest of tasty Thai delights! Rena’s Thai Kitchen out to the East of Norwood happened to be next on our list and I really hope they can calm the culinary storm that is brewing!
    .
  40. Chopstix on Rundle [6.125/10]
    .
    Chopstix on Rundle offers both Thai and Chinese food so people coming here can have a nice selection of Asian cuisine. Not sure if that means this place has restricted it’s selection of Thai food to accommodate more Chinese food on the menu, but hopefully all the favourites are still on board! Being a Friday night this place was packed to the brim, so with any luck our food will be prepared just as carefully as any other day!
    .
  41. Phuket Thai [6.0875/10]
    .
    Second week in and the Thai review crew are still hungry! This time we’re visiting Phuket Thai, a widely recommended restaurant and also a fairly well known name around the Glenelg area. In saying that, there are a few Thai places on Jetty road itself, so I’m looking forwards to comparing them all. After doing some searching around the internet at other reviews, there was a consistent liking towards their Red Beef Curry, some even stating it was the best in Adelaide … well, whatever they are famous for let’s see how they are going to impress us!
    .
  42. Angkor Thai [5.525/10]
    .
    Gosh, how long has it been? I wonder if people are still going to remember this review series after being off for so long! Well, fans will be glad to know that I’m dedicated to complete the series with the last 8 reviews from here onward! This week at Angkor Thai which has had some mixed reviews online, so I’m keen to see whether this place can give us the beans or not. They claim to offer plenty of parking in the outback, but can they serve up quality with the same vastness? Let’s find out!
    .
  43. Thai Orchid [5.375/10]
    .
    Our first Thai review down by the seaside shanty known as Henley Beach! There are quite a few Thai restaurants dotted around here, most of the small takeaway joint … really reminds me of a replica of Glenelg minus the major shopping strip. This place is tricky to find as we experienced … it’s beneath (or a part of, we haven’t figured it out yet) the Henley Sandbar (local pub) and is not visible from off the main street. Unless you know it’s here, I don’t think you’d ever notice this place! Anyways, additional time spent wandering meant we were hungry … time to eat some (hopefully) Thai-riffic tastiness!
    .
  44. Pattaya Thai [4.925/10]
    .
    A few people at the gym have recommended this place as somewhere that isn’t too fancy but gives you the satisfaction of great tasting food. Last time we ate was at Orientai on the other side of Brighton Rd so I thought it would be a good idea to compare the two for those people living by the seaside! Onwards to delicious Thai!
    .
  45. DirecThai [4.4875/10]
    .

    Hang on, this isn’t a restaurant?! you might be asking … and yes you’re right. In the end I got duped, in fact this is just the Director’s Hotel slash pub. I knew the Thai restaurant was a part of the Director’s but I was hoping for a seperate dining section with perhaps just a door leading to access their front bar and pokies room, at least seperating the diners from the drinkers … but alas, my dreams came crashing down. At least the sign says the food is authentic. Let’s read on to find out more …
    .
  46. Duthy Thai [3.6/10]
    .
    Duthy Thai, obviously named for being on Duthy Street, is a quaint little cottage style restaurant (kind of looks like a house converted into a restaurant). I’ve read that the locals love this place, but I’ve heard both good things and bad things from friends so it will be interesting to see just who is right! Onwards!

    .
  47. White Dove [2.625/10]
    .
    This is it! Over two long years in the making and it comes to a well deserved rest. We’ve had our ups and downs and I’ve even upgraded my phone twice since starting this epic journey to take my food photos! The White Dove has been a Port Noarlunga icon way back since at least the early 80’s and has been a popular place for all beach and non-beach lovers. This is the final scoring review, so let’s hope it’s worth the two-year wait!
    .


.

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: